#MHWQueendomSeries: Meet Makwena Mamabolo πŸ€—

Name: Makwena

Age: 24

Life quote:Β “Do onto others as you want done onto you”

What does it mean to be a woman (in this day and age) and what is the most important thing to you as a woman?Β It means that you are here because another woman carried you for 9 months. It means we hold the key to new life. It means yes I do fall pregnant but let me still do the things I want. It means don’t differentiate me from man. 2, women shouldn’t be forced to look similar, I am my own woman if I choose to not conform to a certain movement, than love me as I am, instead of judging me for who I’m not.

What is self-hate to you? And have you been a victim of it?Β Self-hate is constantly finding faults with your existence. Self-hate is a form of low self-esteem. Yes, I suffered from it for years and mostly based on my beauty and weight, Suicidal thoughts become your only salvation. When you have more than enough people you can talk to and (no one to talk to) is theΒ most confusing and painful thing. I honestly don’t know how I overcame it but I did, high school was the worst.

Do you still have issues with self-esteem? And what helps you snap out of it?Β It’s minor but I remind myself of how the world tells us of what beauty is. But when we really look at the beauty being defined, the definition itself is contradictory. You are left to make your own decision and conclusions what makes you beautiful.

When did you learn to start loving the woman you are?Β That what I think of myself is the only opinion and thought that matters and counts. What everyone thinks will only depress and confuse me.

What do you think has influenced your confidence?Β Maturity, and personal experience. The older you get, you learn to only care about the things that make a difference in your life, I have learned to prioritise these things. That is when you acquire more life experience and appreciate the little things in life. I have learned that friends come after family, without my family I am nothing. I saw what my mom went through raising us and I don’t want that for my kids but at the same time, I want the values my mom & gran raised me with instilled in mine.

What are your passions and inspirations?Β I am inspired by beauty of things, there is nothing more beautiful than hearing water flowing/running. The beauty in the sun rising keeps me going. I am passionate about food, my family(includes some friends). I am passionate about any living thing, I hate seeing pain in anything, any feeling of animosity because it really affects everything I do. I want happiness around me all the time (very difficult to maintain). I attach emotion with everything I do.

Do you have any fashion/beauty icons, if so who are they?Β Nhlanhla Nciza is absolutely beautiful, I love her to bits.

If you could meet your younger self, what would you say to her?Β You don’t have to be number 1 at everything, you did good and be proud of yourself. Stop asking about your Dad, he made a choice to leave you and Mom is trying her best with very little resources (appreciate the little things).

If you had to tell one thing to every little girl in the world, what would it be?Β Keep your hair natural and avoid boys.

Where can we find you on social media?

Facebook: Makwena Queezzy Mamabolo

Twitter: @queezzy66

Instagram: @queezzy66

Linkedin: Makwena Mamabolo

Leave a Reply

