#MHWQueendomSeries: Meet Phumzile Twala

Name: Phumzile Nombuso Twala

Age: 28

Life quote: We live and we learn!

What does it mean to be a woman (in this day and age) and what is the most important thing to you as a woman? Being proud of myself and comfortable in my own skin. Living my truth and standing firm in my beliefs. It’s important to go after my goals and not let misperceptions about my gender hold me back.

What is self-hate to you? And have you been a victim of it? Self-hate to me is simply a manifestation of fear. When you’re afraid to fully embrace who you are, you self-sabotage and lack faith in your abilities to become a better person. Yes, I have been a victim of it. When i turned 25 I let go of those shackles. Self-love is a daily mantra now.

Do you still have issues with self-esteem? And what helps you snap out of it?  Oh yes…the devil on my wall…or my mirror… My issues have mainly been with my weight. Once I learned to face reality and do something about it I was much happier. The fat names still hurt though, I won’t lie. But I’ve told myself that I’m so much more than my dimpled thighs and big booty. I have a sexy mind and a beautiful spirit!

When did you learn to start loving the woman you are? I can’t really pinpoint the exact moment… But I think it’s a daily acceptance of who I am…of who I am becoming…I’m still falling in love with myself I guess.

What do you think has influenced your confidence? I’m a very observant person. So I draw inspiration from women around me. My aunts, my mom, my cousins, my friends.

What are your passions and inspirations? Writing, storytelling, education and music. Nothing gets me more excited than being able to put pen to paper (yeah I’m still old Skool like that). The feeling that comes with being able to tell someone’s story and getting a lesson from that. The feeling that comes with crafting a story. That inspires me. That gets me up every morning with a smile on my face. The thrill and challenge that comes with creativity keeps me going.

Do you have any fashion/beauty icons, if so who are they? My dad’s three sisters. They all have elegance and such a great sense of style. They have an effortless style.

If you could meet your younger self, what would you say to her? Don’t worry so much about what other people say. And don’t talk yourself out of pursuing a career as a writer!

If you had to tell one thing to every little girl in the world, what would it be? The most important person you should love in this world is yourself. Respect yourself and others. Be humble and realize that we’re all part of a bigger plan. Don’t be afraid of your light. Bask in it and shine it on others!

Where can we find you on social media?

@PHUMIT on Twitter

@Phumzidocious on Instagram

Phumzile Nombuso Twala on Facebook

Leave a Reply

