#MyNaturalCrown 👑 : Meet Lerato Motloung

This wasn’t easy to express, haven’t written about hair ever…

I’m not my parents’ most hairy child, when I was younger I had thinner hair and I didn’t think my hair would fill up. But I’m not the least hairiest either, as it thickened up my dad cut it for most of my youth so that made me explore dreads and afros and ALSO made me lazy to pay attention to hair coz my hair only ever need a comb. This led to my decision to keep an afro throughout high school (he loves untreated hair) and I can safely say that I’ve had untreated hair almost all my life, even when I gave in to the pressure of relaxing my hair I always went back to my ‘natural’ hair. Well re e bitsa natural akere le ha e fositse.

So after matric I not so often explored with weaves, with the afro underneath them ofcourse. But at some point I realized the meaning behind my lack of interest in having my hair done, there are 2 of them. 1. I’m not very creative with hair (but I’m trying matsatsing ana) and I depended on my sisters and friends to help me do my hair. And be ke ba botswa hey, hahaha, ok I’m lazy sums up everything; and 2. I saw that my hair, the hairline and texture honestly need not be strained by all the braiding and sowing on of weaves. My hair is very black and naturally oily so I’m good. I then became conscious of this crown of mine.

So after cutting, weaving and all the avoiding attempts I just couldn’t avoid what I wanted to do with my hair: DREADLOCKS. I have this idea of thick black dreads on my dead so I got them. Looked cute for the 1st 2 months and I was happy. I had no idea I’d be discovering the myths and folktales associated with dreads and what they symbolize, it’s interesting. My parents didn’t approve coz dreads are associated with Mary Jane, hehe. But fore, their diversity speaks more to me and their primitive native yet timeless relevance is what mine identify with and what my crown makes me feel like.

I usually use glycerine and castor oil for my hair, they work for me, esp when I still had the Afro. These with my natural hair oils keeps the hair looking good but if you’ve ever twisted your dreads you will know hore they suggest you use spray or hairfood. So the laziness to base would catch up coz I’d have to do it more often coz hairfood doesn’t last on my head and the intense heat of late kills me and my hair would thin up like this.

IMG-20170407-WA0008

That taught me that my worst fear is not having a receding hairline associated with dreads, it still is a worry of mine, but it’s actually having my hair look like it went on vacation. On days like this I stick to beanies coz I wanna hide it. I prefer my crown that I’m proud to rock because that’s them(dreads, my babies) at their most natural state, untouched, just allowed to grow at their own pace like this.

IMG-20170407-WA0007

Now that’s how I like my hair. And since then I haven’t got them twisted or anything, braid, wash and oil is all I do. By doing this I let it be what it would be without my interference. I called them primitive, feels like I was born with them;native, feels like I didn’t see them on anyone before; Timeless, gonna be 2 yrs next month but I’ve lost track of time but #NaturalCrown got me counting and Relevance, it’s still a tool to communicate certain messages, whether to say one is a healer, a Rastawoman or rebelling, though not limited to those associations.
So what’s a crown without stones, or beads in my case. I added beads to my hair because I’m a bead artist and there’s gotta be a bead somewhere, anywhere and these are the stones to my crown.

IMG-20170409-WA0056

So that’s my #NaturalCrown… I am still in search of the best hair treatment though so your tips are welcome too. Muah
Ngwaniwapo

Leave a Reply

